Home  FAQ's  Walking Tours  Events  Membership  Newsletter  Sales  History  Links


Upcoming Events

The ORANGE COMMUNITY HISTORICAL SOCIETY will host its Annual Dinner 2013 on Thursday January 24, 2013, at The Villa at 510 East Katella Avenue, located in the City of Orange. The event will begin with a No Host Bar at 6:00 pm and the Dinner will begin at 7:00 pm. Smart Casual - Business Wear attire is reccommended for this evening's occasion.

RSVP for the 2013 OCHS Annual Dinner

Payment of $55.00 per person must be received by January 19th, 2013. Mail a check made payable to the ORANGE COMMUNITY HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Post Office Box 5484, Orange, CA 92863-5484. Please provide person's names attending and a contact telephone number for confirmation. No payments will be taken at the door.

Dinner Speaker

The speaker for this year's annual dinner will be noted Orange County Architect, Mr. Leason F. Pomeroy III, FAIA, who will share his years of experience and impact on Orange County buildings and designs. With his accociates, he has been a creative force for many of the buildings and renovation projects in Orange, including Park Plaza Retirment Residence, Chapman University's Bertea Hall and Moulton Hall, and other Orange County recognizable spaces including Orange County's own John Wayne Airport and Irvine's and Tustin's Marketplaces.

After graduating with degrees in both Architecture and Fine Art, Leason founded his architectural practice, LPA, Inc. in Orange County, California where he was born and raised. Under his 40 years of leadership, the practice grew to become one of the largest firms in California. His firm received over 300 major design awards including the coveted "Firm Award" in 1990 as the outstanding design firm in California.

William T. Glassell Award

Honey Hillebrecht will be honored as the recipient this year's William T. Glassell Award

The William T. Glassell Award is presented to individuals or groups that emphasize contributions to the preservation of our local heritage and service to Orange Community Historical Society.  Members of the Board of Directors are not eligible.  Past recipients are Gene Beyer, Wayne D. Gibson, YMCA Home Tours, Don Smith, Don Meadows, John French, Orange Historical Survey Advisory Board, Paul Clark, Orange National Bank, Joan Austin, Art Pargee, Ruth Evans, Louis Booth, Harold Dittmer, Old Towne Preservation Association, Phil Brigandi, Karen Leo, Ken Claypool, Alice Pitcher, Jane Newell, Joanne Coontz, Opal Patton, Alice Linnert, Bill Austin, Scott Parker, Shirley Perkins, Adrienne Gladson, Anita Freedman, Judy Schroeder, Richard and Ethel Burnette, Elaine Humphrey, David Hart,. Bruce Sinclair, the OCHS Walking Tour Committee, J. J. Friis, Tita Smith and Barbara Resnick.

Florence Flippen Smiley Award

Buddy Hillebrecht
will be the recipient of this year's Florence Flippen Smiley Award.

In memory of Florence Flippen Smiley and her keen appreciation of local history, this award is given to individuals or groups that exemplify a commitment to the past and leave a lasting mark on community history.  Past recipients are Duncan Clark, Leason Pomeroy, Harold Kibby, Peggy Calvert, Yolanda Alvarez, Lisa Ackerman, Nora Jacob and Janet Van Emon and Friends of the Orange Public Library.

Silent Auction

Last year we held our very first ever Silent Auction as a side-show to the Annual Banquet. Our members showed such aninterest that we are going to do it again this year! As you might remember, we asked members to donate items that pertained to Orange's history, and these were bid on silent-auction style. Please contact Lisa Ackerman at (714) 998-5442 or at ap4tiques@aol.com if you have something you would like to contribute for this exciting activity. This year we are again soliciting items and ephemera from Orange's past, (maybe you just ran across a wooden Spin 'n Span Cleaners hanger?). We are also accepting other donations such as gift baskets, gift certificates to area businesses, etc. So take a look around for treasures! And bring a little spending money to the Annual Banquet! It's Fun!

2013 Board of Directors

The nominees for this year's Board of Directors are Aaron Alduenda, Bill Barron, Keith Burnside, Sandy Burnside, Jane Carmichael, Cathy Dencklau, Judy Denton, Lyle Drinkgern, Buddy Hillebrecht, Katie Schroeder, Dan Slater, Bill Utter, Helen Walker and Rosemarie Williams.

Current Events

THE ORANGE COMMUNITY HISTORICAL SOCIETY welcomes the Old Towne Orange, California Farmers and Artisans Market presented by Orange Home Grown. Held at the Historic, Villa Park Orchards Packinghouse, every Saturday from 9am to 1pm throughout the year. This wonderful event takes place where one can find a farmers market full of fresh, locally grown fruits & vegetables, flowers, homemade breads, cheeses, honey, coffee and other yummy stuff. More information can be found at our Links page and at Orange Home Grown.org.  

Past 2012 Events

Please take a look at some of the events from the 2012 year here.

Past 2011 Events

Please take a look at some of the events from the 2011 year here.

Home  FAQ's  Walking Tours  Events  Membership  Newsletter  Sales  History  Links
Orange Community Historical Society
PO Box 5484
Orange, CA  92863-5484